Monday, November 16, 2009

Non-Dual Sages of HINDUISM

All of the world's wisdom traditions have produced, and do produce the condition of living consciously from inherent fulfilled awareness, aka enlightenment.

However, if you're not familiar with non-dual teachings, aka advaita ("non-dual" in Sanskrit), it might be a bit difficult to discern "who's who".

And so, I'm going to be providing a series of posts with links to the great non-dual sages from each wisdom tradition.

In this post, I'm providing links to the non-dual sages of India/Hinduism.

These are the sages, gurus and teachers you can trust to (literally) tell it like it is; no dogma, no doctrine ... just esoteric symbolism (if any), and/or straightforward statements, to guide you to the experiencing of how consciousness actually operates, and thereby, to be able to experience enlightenment in your own life.

Adi Shankaracharya
India, 8th Century
Founding guru of Advaita Vedanta

Kashmir, 10th Century
Leading guru of non-dual Trika Shaivism

Ramana Maharshi
Arunachala, 20th Century
Non-dual sage

Nisargadatta Maharaj
Maharashtra, 20th Century
Non-Dual Sage, best known for the book I AM THAT

Paramahamsa Nithyananda
Tamil Nadu, 21st Century
Non-Dual Paramahamsa

Please Note: if you are not at all familiar with the essence of Hinduism and advaitic philosophy, you may want to start with Paramahamsa Nithyananda, Ramana Maharshi and Nisargadatta Maharaj.

No comments: